Skip to content

Know your Chakras


Know your Chakras

'Chakra' is a Sanskrit word that translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. The 7 Chakras- Root-Muladhara, Sacral -Swadhistana, Solar Plexus- Manipura, Heart- Anahata, Throat- Vishuddha, Third eye- Ajna, and Crown- Sahasrara need to be balanced for the optimum functioning of the body!

  • 'Mula-adhaar' means foundation. The Muladhara (Root) chakra is the base of your Physical and Spiritual self. Balancing the Root Chakra provides a solid foundation for opening all other chakras. When the Muladhara is balanced, the person experiences stability, confidence, and strength.
  • ‘Swadishtana’ means one’s own abode. The Swadishtana (sacral) Chakra is associated with procreation, emotions, desires, and intimacy. Balancing the Sacral Chakra makes a person more emotionally and creatively balanced.
  • 'Mani-pura' literally means city of jewels. Metaphorically one can think of the Manipura (Solar Plexus) Chakra as their personal treasure center of well-being, power, and purpose. Balancing the Solar Plexus Chakra makes a person confident and powerful.
  • 'Anahata' means unstruck. The Anahata (Heart) Chakra governs acceptance, compassion and love. Balancing the Heart Chakra calms the mind, accentuates the capacity to love selflessly, which is one of the greatest traits. 
  • 'Visuddha' means purification. The Vishuddha (throat) Chakra symbolizes the energy of seeking and speaking the truth to oneself and others. Balancing the Throat Chakra leads to bodily purification by improved communication, truth, and self-expression.
  • ‘Ajna’ which means perceive. The Ajna (Third Eye) Chakra is the chakra of intuition, imagination, and self-realization. Balancing the Third Eye Chakra allows us to efficiently see and understand the inner and outer worlds. 
  • 'Sahasrara' means a thousand petals. The Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra is said to be the center of one's spiritual connection to the divine and it gives us the ability to experience a connection with the universal consciousness.



No comments

Leave a comment
Your Email Address Will Not Be Published. Required Fields Are Marked *